A handful of local teachers were celebrated for excellence in the classroom on the eve of the start of the school year.

The annual “Education & Business Partnership Breakfast” put on by the Santa Rosa Chamber of Commerce celebrated teachers from schools around Santa Rosa with a select few earning special commendation at the Aug. 11 event.

Of the 58 educators from preschool programs to community college and four year colleges and universities, eight teachers were selected at top educators of the year:

Rosalba Ramos, Community Action Partnership Head Start

Don Feige, Helen Lehman Elementary School

Peggy Searby, Meadow View Elementary School

Mary Ann Simon, Comstock Middle School

Chris Berg, Montgomery High School

Sandi Lacey, Piner High School

Laura C. Rosenthal, Empire College

Karina Nielsen, Sonoma State University

Dr. Carlos Ayala, dean of Sonoma State University’s School of Education, was the keynote speaker. The event was held at the Flamingo Hotel.