Ten Sonoma County educators are in the running to become the California League of High Schools Educator of the Year.

The teachers will be celebrated at a dinner at Villa Chanticleer in Healdsburg Dec. 16. The winner of the Region 1 competition will be announced at the dinner.

That educator will move on to the California-wide dinner in Sacramento in February.

This year’s honorees are:

Jo Thinnes Casa Grande High School
John Quintrell Montgomery High School
Stephanie Moore Elsie Allen High School
Joseph DiOrio Healdsburg High School
Willie Swindle Santa Rosa High School
Mary Kay Pedersen Maria Carrillo High School
Kristi Erickson Piner High School
Amy Cortese Windsor High School
Deborah Fitch Petaluma High School
Jay Goldberg Analy High School

Last year’s Region 1 honoree, Simone Spearman of Piner High, went on to win Educator of the Year for California. To read more about that award, click here: