Healdsburg School District has pulled a double after both Healdsburg Junior High teacher Lili Fonseca and Healdsburg High School teacher Joe DiOrio both won California League of Schools teacher of the year awards in their respective categories.

To read about DiOrio, see yesterday’s blog post.

Fonseca will represent Region 1 at the annual California League of Middle Schools conference in Sacramento in February.

Fonseca gave a moving speech about her experiences as a teacher that shaped her approach to teaching, according to colleague Barbara Pinney. Fonseca stressed the importance of connections between teacher and student and of the teacher’s “looking into the hearts of children.”


Other award winning middle school teachers who were honored when Fonseca took home the top prize include:

Steve Mitchell of Windsor Middle School

Matt Passalacqua of Santa Rosa Middle School

Rosy Laden of Comstock Middle School

Patrick Eagle of Rincon Valley Middle School

Sharon Pomilia of Pomolita Middle School

Shirley Austin-Peeke of Adele Harrison Middle School

Annette Prader of Eagle Peak Middle School

Mary Ann Sheridan of McKinleyville Middle School